My Love Affair with the Faroes – Torshavn Photos Posted

I cannot begin to express why I am pulled towards the Faroe Islands. Is it the picturesque turf houses? Islands of pure mountain soaring out of the foggy Atlantic waters? The dancing, jesting, playful fog? Wistful music that embodies the haunting of the Faroes in my soul? The reserved, yet welcoming Faroese who share their home with a quiet pride?

I still don’t know. But I can pin-point the when of this love affair with a little-known-to-Americans archipelago of islands in the North Atlantic. 6th grade, age 12, as I flipped through an encyclopedia for a school research project at good ol’ Gordon Russell Middle School, home of the Thunderbirds. There it was, a photo of a craggy, treeless expanse of islands, taken from the air. That was the moment. It was never a question of if I would visit, it was always a question of when.

Well, my “when” has come and gone, and I am still spell-bound, to the point I am trying to learn Faroese, not exactly the most useful or easiest of languages. But I am compelled, wanting to further understand the Faroes through the very way the people think – their language.

So to whet your appetite and hopefully begin to share a little of why I love the Faroes, here is my first slide show of photos, starting with the capital of Torshavn. Click on the link below to view.

Torshavn, Faroe Islands

About chronictraveler

Chronic Traveler starts as a dream, one that I thought I had lost, but that has slowly changed into a mission to realize and live that dream every day. In December 2007 I became seriously ill and the doctors did not know what was causing my illness. I had to stop teaching as my life tumbled into a never-ending nightmare of doctors, hospitals and tests. Finally, in May 2008 I was diagnosed with a chronic condition - fibromyalgia. I was only 26 years old at the time. I have had to give up teaching, and now work part-time at a performing arts center as I learn how to manage my condition and improve my quality of life. What helped me through the months of uncertainty and sickness, and continues to inspire me, was a new focus on what truly mattered to me: family, friends, gardening, the arts, and especially travel. I have always fed my soul by traveling, ever since I first stepped off the plane at age 16 in Kathmandu, Nepal to help with an orphanage's building project. Meeting new people and experiencing how they live and how they view the world infuses my life with a richness I was so afraid I would lose when the doctor first said, "You have fibromyalgia". This blog is my story, as I begin to forge a new path. I am embracing my life as it is, with the fibromyalgia pain and fatigue, and learning to do what I love regardless. It may mean I have to go slower and take more naps or breaks! But I am determined to learn how to travel and experience the world, and hopefully what I learn will help others like me who believe their medical condition stands in the way of their travel dreams.
This entry was posted in Faroe Islands and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Love Affair with the Faroes – Torshavn Photos Posted

  1. Bill Birkett says:

    Hey there is a program to learn beginning through intermediate Faroese as well as Icelandic this summer with Broad Sky Alternative Language Academy. Contact me, Bill, at broadskyaltlang@gmail.com. It’s a heritage language program so you won’t find anywhere else; it’s also probably your best bet if you want to learn Faroese, save actually living in the Faroes and taking classes there. Send me an email if you’re interested.
    –Bill

  2. Bill Birkett says:

    Btw, great pics, I just went through them. The Faroes are truly magnificent, and so Iceland…my favorite spot is Akureyri. Anyway, I realize my last comment was a bit incoherent, but I hope you get the gist.

Leave a Reply

