Croatian Klapa – A Soulful Tradition

Diocletian's Palace in Split, Croatia

When I am feeling deadened by the toll of fibro on my body and weighed down by all the obligations of life, I fall back into the comfort and inspiration of music. Today, I broke my latest writer’s block with a souvenir from Croatia – a CD of the klapa group Cambi.

Through the harmonizing of Croatian klapa, I reconnected with a time and place from a year ago – standing within the remnants of the Roman emperor Diocletian’s palace on the shores of Dalmatia as a local klapa group performed for the tourists. Just like that, no worry, fatigue or pain could touch me; it was a distant throb beyond the veil of musical time travel. The swell of harmonizing voices, the rumble of the bass in my gut, the weaving of stories of heartache, loss, love and triumph in a language I did not understand but that still whispered to my soul – for the length of a 40-minute compact disc I relived my too-brief time in Split, Croatia on the shores of the Adriatic Sea.

Klapa is a form of folk-singing indigenous to the region of Dalmatia, located on the coast of Croatia. It is a compelling mix of medieval monastic music, local story-telling, and more recent Mediterranean influences. Traditionally sung by men in acappella, klapa focuses on pure chords and harmonizing. There is an improvisational element, as each voice follows the lead of the first tenor, with the goal of achieving perfect harmony as they sing about love, life, and the local gossip.

Domed entry to Diocletian's Palace

To the American ear, klapa at first sounds like our Norman Rockwell-esque version of the barbershop quartet, but klapa is so much more. It started in the Middle Ages as the Reformation and the Catholic Church’s Counter Reformation grappled for the soul of Europe. As secular language began to filter inside the walls of the cathedrals of Christian Europe, this language, as well as local oral traditions of storytelling, mixed with the monastic music of the church, especially the tradition of harmonizing chords, such as Gregorian chants. Klapa was born. As Croatia experienced centuries of foreign rule, conquest, and threats from outside by the Venetians, Ottoman Turks, and Hapsburg Empire, klapa became a subversive way to lament the hardships of the Croatian people, as well as explore the birth of nationalism in the 19th and 20th centuries. Today, klapa continues its tradition of innovation, by adapting beats and influences from the Mediterranean regions, including pop music. At various times, klapa reminded me of an enticing and salty mix of Gregorian chants, barbershop quartet, Latin pop music, and crooning ballads. It is ever changing and adaptive.

There are klapa festivals and competitions all over Croatia today, but while I was unable to attend any in my short stay, I was privileged to stumble across a local klapa group inside the grand domed entrance of Diocletian’s palace. Somehow it was a perfect harmony of moments and space in which to swell with the music of the Croatian people. The chords reverberated off the eons-old stones of a Roman palace up into the sky where the ceiling of an emperor’s home once stood. As I let the harmony envelop me, I contemplated how the people of the city of Split had built and rebuilt their city many times in the midst of the palace’s foundations. Just as I could turn a corner in a tiny medieval lane and stumble upon a forgotten and forlorn Roman mosaic floor in the path, so could I imagine that in the corners of the chords, I could hear centuries of stories that the Croatian soul has to tell. That is the power of klapa.

Enjoy the video I took on my camera of a klapa group while in Diocletian’s palace in Split, Croatia.

About chronictraveler

Chronic Traveler starts as a dream, one that I thought I had lost, but that has slowly changed into a mission to realize and live that dream every day. In December 2007 I became seriously ill and the doctors did not know what was causing my illness. I had to stop teaching as my life tumbled into a never-ending nightmare of doctors, hospitals and tests. Finally, in May 2008 I was diagnosed with a chronic condition - fibromyalgia. I was only 26 years old at the time. I have had to give up teaching, and now work part-time at a performing arts center as I learn how to manage my condition and improve my quality of life. What helped me through the months of uncertainty and sickness, and continues to inspire me, was a new focus on what truly mattered to me: family, friends, gardening, the arts, and especially travel. I have always fed my soul by traveling, ever since I first stepped off the plane at age 16 in Kathmandu, Nepal to help with an orphanage's building project. Meeting new people and experiencing how they live and how they view the world infuses my life with a richness I was so afraid I would lose when the doctor first said, "You have fibromyalgia". This blog is my story, as I begin to forge a new path. I am embracing my life as it is, with the fibromyalgia pain and fatigue, and learning to do what I love regardless. It may mean I have to go slower and take more naps or breaks! But I am determined to learn how to travel and experience the world, and hopefully what I learn will help others like me who believe their medical condition stands in the way of their travel dreams.
This entry was posted in Eastern Europe, Music and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

