Some Enchanted Evening

Weary muscles and joints today, but worth it for my soothed soul. Last night, I had the privilege to attend the Lincoln Center’s Broadway revival of South Pacific on stage. And not just any stage – my own stage, the Fox Cities Performing Arts Center, in the heart of the theater where I work.

I cannot rave enough about South Pacific. This production is glorious – world-class singing talent, a large orchestra with rich depths to its sound, and beautifully crafted set design. My friend Laura, who plans to go back to school in theater stage management and design, will swoon when she sees these sets. The World War II aircraft buff in me was impressed by the realism of the Navy fighter on stage. The use of light and matte painting on the backdrops were so evocative, at times I forgot it wasn’t a real sunset over the sparkling seas and that the sailors weren’t really prancing through sand. The set design was just as much of a star as the acting talent.

And what talent! I’m not typically enamoured with the traditional musicals of Rodgers and Hammerstein, but the vocal talent of Jason Howard in the role of Emile was earth-shattering, in a way I am completely unused to in humble Appleton, Wisconsin. I had to keep pinching myself as if to physically jolt myself into the realization I hadn’t suddenly been transported to Europe’s opera houses. (Although, according to the program notes, he has performed in opera houses across Europe, including Wagner’s “Ring Cycle” in Strasbourg.)

The storyline has also aged surprisingly well, relatable to these times with an African-American president and growing anti-Muslim fervor, a political theater rife with disrespect and an absence of nuanced, reasoned conversation on both sides of the red and blue aisle. It is especially relevant with today’s undercurrent of racist nativism that chills this historian trained in 1930s American and European history to the core. While not an overtly political production, the exploration of prejudice in South Pacific and how it can seep treacherously into the emotions, opinions and actions of even the most open-minded individuals, who would see themselves as unprejudiced, is thought-provoking. And poignantly timed.  Especially as I overhear respected friends voice startlingly bigoted opinions bathed in ignorance and fear. A student of Depression-era history, I know this stems from great uncertainty, as most periods of nativism and growing visible intolerance often do in our society. To have at such a time a beautiful, soulful revival of South Pacific seems somehow more than coincidence. A relevant story, wrapped up in soul-inspiring music and a remarkable visual feast.

In my feverish longing for travel that challenges me to open up and expose myself to learning about other people and cultures, I often forget that soul-enriching cultural experiences are right in my backyard. Last night was solid proof of that. So even though I had been at work since 8:30 am that morning, somehow I didn’t mind when I stepped out of the doors of the theater at 10:30pm. It was as if I had journeyed in my seat back into the 1940s in the Pacific for three whole hours – “Some Enchanted Evening”, indeed!

About chronictraveler

Chronic Traveler starts as a dream, one that I thought I had lost, but that has slowly changed into a mission to realize and live that dream every day. In December 2007 I became seriously ill and the doctors did not know what was causing my illness. I had to stop teaching as my life tumbled into a never-ending nightmare of doctors, hospitals and tests. Finally, in May 2008 I was diagnosed with a chronic condition - fibromyalgia. I was only 26 years old at the time. I have had to give up teaching, and now work part-time at a performing arts center as I learn how to manage my condition and improve my quality of life. What helped me through the months of uncertainty and sickness, and continues to inspire me, was a new focus on what truly mattered to me: family, friends, gardening, the arts, and especially travel. I have always fed my soul by traveling, ever since I first stepped off the plane at age 16 in Kathmandu, Nepal to help with an orphanage's building project. Meeting new people and experiencing how they live and how they view the world infuses my life with a richness I was so afraid I would lose when the doctor first said, "You have fibromyalgia". This blog is my story, as I begin to forge a new path. I am embracing my life as it is, with the fibromyalgia pain and fatigue, and learning to do what I love regardless. It may mean I have to go slower and take more naps or breaks! But I am determined to learn how to travel and experience the world, and hopefully what I learn will help others like me who believe their medical condition stands in the way of their travel dreams.
This entry was posted in Local Tourism, Theater/Performing Arts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

