A Date with the World

Every four years I undergo a transformation. Overnight my routine and personality completely change. I wake up and sleep at odd hours, glued to my TV and computer screen for 45 minute chunks of time. Chores, cooking, grocery shopping, even my poor husband – all fade from my focus. I never hear the phone ring and forget to return messages. If you become concerned and happen to look in on me, you will see a rather bizarre sight. Me in front of the screen, muttering to myself, bent forward and hands clasped above my knees, unwavering lock of my gaze on the flickering screen, occasional and violent outbursts as I flail my arms wildly. If I happen to have a companion, we might occasionally high-five or slap each other on the backs.

At this point you may be guessing that I am watching a sports event. You would be accurate. Knowing that I am an American currently living in Northeast Wisconsin, you would normally guess with 100% confidence in your accuracy that I am watching Packers football. However, the timing of this sports-induced frenzy is puzzling – mid-June, you think, cannot possibly be football. So your next guess might be baseball. Very logical – the Brewers and Cubs are practically in my backyard. If you are a Midwestern American, all these deductions make sense.

And yet you would be wrong.

This native Portlander is mesmerized by the seductiveness of a world party centered on the game she grew up playing on cold, damp Saturday mornings as she dove for the checkered ball into a massive pool of muddy goodness. I am watching football, or soccer if you like.

I will steer clear of all the debates over whether soccer is an American sport or not, the self-righteous platitudes about the beauty of the world’s most democratic game or how such a low-scoring sport is boring and un-American. I’ve learned since I was old enough to kick a ball that for Americans soccer is a love-hate relationship, much like eating cilantro or cheering for the Yankees. Adding my two-cents in to this conversation just makes more noise.

Instead, I see this as an opportunity to travel the world without ever leaving my house. There is something intoxicating about a month-long, world-wide party. My international friends regale me with stories of entire cities shutting down, breathless. A collective moment of hope, despair, frustration, anticipation – a plethora of emotions shared with the momentary family of strangers at the local pub. The sudden outburst of euphoria in the streets as your nation triumphs. The gasps of horror when your team falters, almost a collective heaving sigh escaping from the inanimate concrete and steel.

I experienced for myself the world’s obsession with soccer when I was 16 and spent the summer at an orphanage in a village outside Kathmandu, Nepal. It was the 1998 World Cup and the entire village would get up in the wee morning hours before dawn to watch the world’s game, even though Nepal’s national team wasn’t even playing. After dinner, we would congregate with the rest of the village around a cow field to watch the local village soccer team practice. A few of us Americans scrimmaged with the team, discovering we spoke a common language of soccer, even though we couldn’t understand each other’s spoken communication. It was a moment of transcendence beyond our cultural differences.

I may not be in South Africa at the matches, or live in a country where everyone watches religiously, but I am wrapped up in the World Cup experience. I feel connected to the larger world through our shared passion for the game. I marvel at the crisp, smooth geometry of Germany’s passing, the heart of the plucky Slovenes, the speed and fluidity of Brazil. I find myself favoring the underdogs, even as I savor the mastery of the favorites. And yes, I even find my heart swelling with patriotic pride as my own USA ties England in their opening match.

So clear my calendar for the next three weeks – I have a date with the world.

About chronictraveler

Chronic Traveler starts as a dream, one that I thought I had lost, but that has slowly changed into a mission to realize and live that dream every day. In December 2007 I became seriously ill and the doctors did not know what was causing my illness. I had to stop teaching as my life tumbled into a never-ending nightmare of doctors, hospitals and tests. Finally, in May 2008 I was diagnosed with a chronic condition - fibromyalgia. I was only 26 years old at the time. I have had to give up teaching, and now work part-time at a performing arts center as I learn how to manage my condition and improve my quality of life. What helped me through the months of uncertainty and sickness, and continues to inspire me, was a new focus on what truly mattered to me: family, friends, gardening, the arts, and especially travel. I have always fed my soul by traveling, ever since I first stepped off the plane at age 16 in Kathmandu, Nepal to help with an orphanage's building project. Meeting new people and experiencing how they live and how they view the world infuses my life with a richness I was so afraid I would lose when the doctor first said, "You have fibromyalgia". This blog is my story, as I begin to forge a new path. I am embracing my life as it is, with the fibromyalgia pain and fatigue, and learning to do what I love regardless. It may mean I have to go slower and take more naps or breaks! But I am determined to learn how to travel and experience the world, and hopefully what I learn will help others like me who believe their medical condition stands in the way of their travel dreams.
This entry was posted in Exercise/sports, World Cup and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

