Winter Walks and Country Guide to Iceland Posted

I am scribbling furiously away on my manuscript about my travels in Greenland, Iceland, and the Faroe Islands. Okay, maybe “scribbling” is old-school, circa junior high when I still wrote my short stories and never-finished novels in spiral notebooks.

I am typing furiously away….

Better?

In all this feverish writing, as the landscapes and people, tastes and smells, sensations and feelings rush back into my cozy home office, I am inspired to tackle a side project. Namely, adding one of my favorite corners of the world to my country guides. In the coming months, I plan to add my own travel guides to all the places I traversed, including some tips for others like me living and traveling with fibromyalgia or another chronic medical condition.

To kick off this mad writing rush, I present my Country Guide to Iceland. City and region guides for Iceland will be added little by little as I write them.

On a side note, today I walked to and from my doctor appointment, a total round trip of 2 hours through melting snow and ice. I am determined to continue walking – the single most important therapy for my fibromyalgia – throughout the winter months.

We’re having a bizarre winter. Mild until this month, my birthday arrived with instant winter and sub-zero temperatures. Until yesterday, when my walk to work presented a crazy mix of 4 seasons in the space of 45 minutes – rain, sleet, hail, and snow. Today, as if I wasn’t dizzy enough, the weather wizard tossed out a pleasant March day of dirty melting snow and warm sunshine.

What will tomorrow’s walk bring? In Wisconsin, you just never know.

About chronictraveler

Chronic Traveler starts as a dream, one that I thought I had lost, but that has slowly changed into a mission to realize and live that dream every day. In December 2007 I became seriously ill and the doctors did not know what was causing my illness. I had to stop teaching as my life tumbled into a never-ending nightmare of doctors, hospitals and tests. Finally, in May 2008 I was diagnosed with a chronic condition - fibromyalgia. I was only 26 years old at the time. I have had to give up teaching, and now work part-time at a performing arts center as I learn how to manage my condition and improve my quality of life. What helped me through the months of uncertainty and sickness, and continues to inspire me, was a new focus on what truly mattered to me: family, friends, gardening, the arts, and especially travel. I have always fed my soul by traveling, ever since I first stepped off the plane at age 16 in Kathmandu, Nepal to help with an orphanage's building project. Meeting new people and experiencing how they live and how they view the world infuses my life with a richness I was so afraid I would lose when the doctor first said, "You have fibromyalgia". This blog is my story, as I begin to forge a new path. I am embracing my life as it is, with the fibromyalgia pain and fatigue, and learning to do what I love regardless. It may mean I have to go slower and take more naps or breaks! But I am determined to learn how to travel and experience the world, and hopefully what I learn will help others like me who believe their medical condition stands in the way of their travel dreams.
This entry was posted in Exercise/sports, Iceland, Living with Fibromyalgia, travel with fibromyalgia and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Winter Walks and Country Guide to Iceland Posted

  1. chillic82 says:

    Really enjoying your blog. I’m an unfit englishman whose just started hiking/walking as a hobby with a goal to see Faroes, Greenland, Iceland amongst many other beautiful countries, but for now i’m exploring England for the first time despite living here for 29 years. A good way to train my body up and get my feet used to the battering they are going to get. Really inspiring reading your blog and the photos are great, I’m really enjoying it. Keep it up.

    • chronictraveler says:

      Thanks for some much needed encouragement! As another unfit hiker/walker, I will be following your blog and cheering you on. Britain is definately on my list. Iceland of course is fantastic for all levels of hiking, but the Faroes surprised me and has become my favorite destination. Greenland will kick your butt, but totally worth it.

Leave a comment